Some Little Heartful Things (part 2)

shutterstock_339132713

So I was sharing with you about the Christmas feast I had with my host family in Cardiff back in 2014, and when the night ended, they all said their goodbyes. But this one little kid, this little kid that was not older than 7 years old I suppose, he literally made my heart sing.

You see, I was sitting on the far end of the long table – in fact, the furthest away from the door. And I remember I was so oblivious to what he was up to, I just knew and saw from the corner of my eyes that the little kid and his family were walking out the door and about to leave. And then something caught my curious eyes (again). I saw a little figure, when he was so close to the door already, he turned around and then slowly squeezed himself through all those chairs through the long table and walked all the way to the far end of where I was sitting, and looked me in the eyes, he shyly said, “merry Christmas,” and extended his little chubby hand to me.

I was so shocked. I was not prepared for that. That was literally the cutest thing ever. Just the way he said “merry Christmas” and the way he shyly shook my hand and his pink little cheeks and the fact that he took all these efforts and literally walked across the whole hall just to get to us and say ‘merry Christmas” to us? How amazing is that?! … Goodness, my heart literally melted with how adorable he was. To the little kids’ parents, you’re doing GREAT parenting.

After shaking his hand I was trying to compose myself but I was bursting with “awwww” in my heart of heart and trying so hard not to tear up. I said “merry Christmas” back to him and he shyly smiled and it’s everything to me. This sounds dramatic, but keep in mind that my friend and I were essentially the only strangers in this Christmas feast with this beautiful family, two-young-quirky-Asian-girls-sitting-quickly-in-the-corner sort of thing. Christmas is a big deal in the Western culture, it’s the equivalent of Chinese New Year to us, and being privilege enough to sit on the same table with them and be treated as part of the family is one of the best thing that happened to me during the time I stayed. For them to extend such a welcoming gesture to us was a great and amazing thing. It should be a great deal to anyone, nonetheless. I was just reeling with love and warmth on that night.

I am forever grateful for this family and for the experience and memories that I made during those times, I feel so fortunate and they are truly one of the most precious families I met during my time in the U.K.

And that is end of my little story! It’s not a big or dramatic one, but typing this out still puts a smile on my face as I recall all the lovely memories. I love this family.

So, until next time!

All the love,

Angela ❤

Leave a Reply

